Why Montessori ?

Freedom

The free choice of activity, the freedom to communicate and move in an orderly, stimulating, calm and serene atmosphere.

Respect

Respect for everyone's rhythm. Rapid children evolve quickly, slow ones move slowly; together in the same space.

Self-discipline

Discipline must come from within: correction by the other makes it passive, self-correction keeps it active and stimulates its activity.

Maria Montessori

1870 - 1952


Pedagogue doctor, born of a bourgeois family in Italy. 

In 1884, she joined a technical school for boys, discovered biology and decided to become a doctor. In 1892, she easily integrates (usually reserved for men) the Faculty of Medicine and became in 1897 the first woman doctor of his country.

The birth of an educational method: during 2 years, she worked in a psychiatric clinic with mentally disabled children before devoting herself fully to the pedagogy of children. She takes part in pedagogy conferences in Turin and then in Rome. Thereafter, she will undertake additional studies in psychology and philosophy. 

In 1907, "The House of Children" (Casa dei Bambini) was created in a popular area in Italy. Children are offered a "small house" in a "big house" to live the day. Parents have free access to school. In return, they must ensure the cleanliness and good behavior (dress) of children. She has furniture made to the size of children, which is totally revolutionary at the time. She and her assistant take care of the 50 children by offering them the material she had previously used with children with disabilities. The Casa dei Bambini becomes a research base, an experimental laboratory where Maria Montessori builds and approves her method. His observations: the capacities of concentration and self-discipline are extraordinary, the children need order and the most beautiful: the blossoming of the children is transmitted to their entourage.

In 1909, Maria created a class of educators for children from 3 to 6 years old, and another one for children from 6 to 12 years old. These courses became international from 1913. Many associations and charitable organizations asked him to create children's homes. She travels extensively to lecture and organize teacher training courses. The world war of 1914 interrupts this dazzling development of schools. She creates the AMI (Association Montessori Internationale) to preserve and promote her method. 

In 1934, she exiled herself after the turnaround of Mussolini which makes close all the Montessori schools which he admired nevertheless the method. She arrives in Spain and leaves for Holland following the arrival of Franco in power. During the second world war, she moved to India where she created many schools and meets Tagore, Nehru and Gandhi, then become friends. 

After the war, she returned to Italy and took up the training of educators and re-opened the schools. She writes new books including "Education for Peace" which is nominated 3 times for the Nobel Peace Prize. In 1949, she was awarded the Legion of Honor in France and was acclaimed by UNESCO. She died on May 6, 1952 at the age of 82, in Holland. 

Today in the world, there are 30,000 Montessori schools, including 150 in France ... 18 training centers for educators, including only 1 in France!

Pourquoi Montessori ?

La liberté

Le libre choix de l'activité, la liberté de communiquer et de mouvement dans une ambiance ordonnée, stimulante, calme et sereine.

Le respect

Le respect du rythme de chacun. Les enfants rapides évoluent vite, les plus lents avancent doucement ; ensemble dans un même espace.

L'autodiscipline

La discipline doit venir de l'intérieur : la correction par l'autre le rend passif, l'autocorrection le garde actif et stimule son activité.

Maria Montessori

1870 - 1952

Médecin pédagogue, née d'une famille bourgeoise en Italie.

En 1884, elle intègre une école technique pour garçons, découvre la biologie et décide de devenir médecin. En 1892, elle intègre difficilement (réservé généralement aux hommes) la faculté de médecine et devient en 1897 la 1ère femme médecin de son pays.

La naissance d'une méthode éducative : durant 2 ans, elle travailla en clinique psychiatrique auprès d'enfants mentalement handicapés avant de se consacrer pleinement à la pédagogie des enfants. Elle intervient lors des congrès de pédagogie à Turin puis à Rome. Par la suite, elle entreprendra des études complémentaires de psychologie et de philosophie.

En 1907, "La maison des enfants" (Casa dei Bambini) fut créée dans un quartier populaire en Italie. On offre aux enfants une « petite maison » dans une « grande maison » pour y vivre la journée. Les parents ont libre accès à l'école. En contrepartie, ils doivent veiller à la propreté et à la bonne tenue (vestimentaire) des enfants. Elle fait fabriquer du mobilier à la taille des enfants, ce qui est totalement révolutionnaire à l'époque. Elle et son assistante s'occupent des 50 enfants en leur proposant le matériel qu'elle avait précédemment utilisé avec les enfants handicapés. La Casa dei bambini devient une base de recherche, un laboratoire d'expérimentation où Maria Montessori construit et approuve sa méthode. Ses observations : les capacités de concentration et d'autodiscipline sont extraordinaires, les enfants ont besoin d'ordre et le plus beau : l'épanouissement des enfants se transmet à leur entourage.

En 1909, Maria crée un cours d'éducateurs pour les enfants de 3 à 6 ans, puis un autre pour ceux de 6 à 12 ans. Ces cours deviennent internationaux à partir de 1913. De nombreuses associations et organisations caritatives lui demandent de créer des maisons d'enfants. Elle multiplie les voyages pour effectuer des conférences et organiser des stages de formation pédagogique. La guerre mondiale de 1914 interrompt ce fulgurant développement des écoles. Elle crée l'AMI (l'Association Montessori Internationale) afin de préserver et promouvoir sa méthode.

En 1934, elle s'exile suite au retournement de Mussolini qui fait fermer toutes les écoles Montessori dont il admirait pourtant la méthode. Elle arrive en Espagne et la quitte pour la Hollande suite à l'arrivée de Franco au pouvoir. Durant la seconde guerre mondiale, elle s'installe en Inde où elle crée de nombreuses écoles et rencontre Tagore, Nehru et Gandhi, puis deviennent amis.

Après la guerre, elle revient en Italie et reprend les formations d'éducateurs et ré-ouvre les écoles. Elle écrit de nouveaux livres dont "L'éducation à la paix" qui est nominé 3 fois pour le prix Nobel de la paix. En 1949, elle est décorée de la légion d'honneur en France et ovationnée à l'UNESCO. Elle décède le 6 mai 1952 à l'âge de 82 ans, en Hollande.

Aujourd'hui dans le monde, il existe 30 000 école Montessori dont 150 en France... 18 centres de formation d'éducateurs dont 1 seul en France !